Messy Oaks by John Roland

10 commandments



¨      The Decalog (Ten Commandments) is at the heart of the message of Deuteronomy.

List of commandments: narrowed to two categories.

–          The 1st 5 = man’s relationship to God

–          2nd 5 = man’s relationship to man

Broken down by topic:

  1. Nature      of God
  2. Worship      of God
  3. Name      of God
  4. Day      of God
  5. Family      of God
  6. Deals      with life
  7. Deals      with family
  8. Deals      with property
  9. Deals      with truthfulness
  10. Deals      with motivation.

Two kinds of laws can be found in the Old Testament.

¨      First are broad categorical laws which set forth general principles. These laws do not specify how they are to be enforced or what penalties are to be invoked. The Ten Commandments are representative of this kind of law. They are basic policy statements for life in a…

View original post 1,647 more words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s